#Inuk Grandmother defiant after being locked in men’s prison, strip searched – APTN News

Inuk Grandmother defiant after being locked in men’s prison, strip searched – APTN News – “I was fearful. What if I didn’t get to see my kids again?” said Hunter. “It really hit me. I couldn’t believe it. I looked out the window to make sure I saw my kid’s house, my sister’s house. The second thing I thought, I hope I don’t go missing and murdered like all those women. I broke crying down on the plane.”

Hunter said the Canadian justice system is “racist and discriminatory” and hopes the outcry over her recent incarceration brings about change.

“What I’m hoping for is Indigenous law to be a part of our legal system,” said Hunter. “I’m hoping for Muskrat to be shut down. I’m still hoping for our people to rise up and shut it down. It’s already done damage but we can still fix it.”

Hunter spent eleven days in a St. John’s jail for men over 1,600 km from her home for not promising to obey a court injunction to stay away from Muskrat Falls, a controversial hydroelectric project outside Happy Valley Goose Bay in Labrador.

On Monday, Senators Murray Sinclair and Kim Pate released a joint letter to express their “extreme disappointment” over Hunter’s “unjust incarceration.”

“Protesting is a basic civil right, not a crime justifying imprisonment,” wrote Murray and Pate. “She harmed no one and was motivated only by love and a sense of duty. She is a steward of land, the very land that the government failed to engage and consult about when the Muskrat Falls development was being planned.”

Leave a Reply

