Winnipegger helps Indigenous man having heart attack, calls out those who didn’t – Manitoba – CBC News

Winnipegger helps Indigenous man having heart attack, calls out those who didn’t – Manitoba – CBC News – “As a Caucasian man, if I’m having a heart attack on the street, I’m pretty confident that somebody’s going to come out and help me — that many people are going to come out to help me and ask me if I’m OK,” said David Jacks, who helped a man having a heart attack on Smith Street near Portage Avenue on Monday. “It’s because he’s an Aboriginal man, lying on the street downtown … Winnipeggers have become so desensitized to their own racism.” Jacks was driving home from work along Smith towards Portage just before 5 p.m. when he saw a man lying on the sidewalk with a woman kneeling beside him. It was raining and traffic was crawling at a snail’s place. Jacks said he hesitated before he pulled over and turned on his hazard lights. When Jacks got out to check on the man, a couple of other drivers honked at him for blocking the curb lane with his vehicle. He asked the couple if everything was OK, but it clearly wasn’t.

