To White Folks That Have Never Seen Super Light Skinned Negros Before

So, this is me. No makeup, no sorcery. This picture is a few years old. Nothing has changed.

I suppose what they really mean when they think/say that I’m not black is that I don’t inspire their racist fears about black people.

Or they could mean that black people don’t have certain looks. Not REAL black people anyway.

This really gets on my nerves.

Yes, I am privileged to not be immediately recognized as a black person.

“What race are you?” -People of All Races

“I am a negro, sir/ma’am.” -Me

Now hate me.

That’s what I always think when I watch their faces change and their smiles droop.

There is no such thing as white privilege for me. I have a thing called light skinned privilege.

Light skinned is still black.

And yeah, I do/did qualify for black scholarships to HBCUs and nobody would have cared if I had received a HBCU scholarship.

via To White Folks That Have Never Seen Super Light Skinned Negros Before.

