The Esperanto alphebet and how to type special characters


When teaching new students the Esperanto language, one of our first tasks is dealing with the alphabet. And since some of the Esperanto characters do not appear on standard keyboards, being able to type in Esperanto requires a little training. Here are the key ideas I have introduced to my students about this subject in the first week.

The Esperanto alphabet has 28 characters.  The letters q,w,x, and y do not exist in the language, but Esperanto does have a number of unique characters with diacritics (special marks placed above or below a letter):  ĉ, ĝ, ĥ, ĵ, ŝ, and ǔ.  Letters are never silent, each character has exactly one sound, and spelling is completely phonetic.    If you can say it correctly, you will also spell it correctly, and vice-verse. The vowels are a,e,i,o, and u. There is always one vowel per syllable and the accent of a word is…

View original post 597 more words

%d bloggers like this: